top of page
  • Fiction Fans

Book Tour Q&A: City of Ruin by Charissa Weaks


Today we're taking part in the book tour organized by Escapist Book Tours for City of Ruin by Charissa Weaks! Continue reading for the book blurb and a Q&A with the author.

 
About the book

The night the Prince of the East razed her village, Raina Bloodgood’s life changed forever. Forced into someone else’s war—and into the arms of the Witch Collector, Alexus Thibault—Raina discovered that everything she believed was wrong, and that she was capable of far more than anyone imagined.


Now, the Prince of the East has taken the Frost King as a pawn in his war against the Summerlands, causing Alexus’s life to hang in the balance. To thwart the prince’s endgame and prevent the Tiressian empire from returning to an age of gods, Raina, Alexus, and a band of Northlanders race against the sands of time to reach a mystical desert land where merciless assassins lurk around every corner.


In the midst of tragedy, Raina and Alexus fight to stay together and alive, all while a nefarious presence follows them straight to the jeweled gates of the Summerland queen’s citadel—the City of Ruin. With much to fear, it’s the terror of a past she shouldn't remember that Raina cannot cast from her dreams.


A past that's determined to find her. One way or another.


City of Ruin is book two in a thrilling romantic fantasy series, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik, Sarah J. Maas, and Jennifer L. Armentrout.

 
On to the interview...!

Thank you so much for joining us for this Q&A! We’ll start off with one of our standard podcast opening questions–tell us something great that’s happened recently. The release of my second book ☺


What are you currently reading or what’s up next on your TBR? What made you pick up this book?

Empire of the Vampire. It sounded right up my alley!


Can you tell us a little bit about yourself and what inspired you to start writing?

I’ve been telling stories since I could talk. Writing has always been a part of my life, but I never thought I could make it into a career. In 2009, while managing a physical therapy office, I decided I would get back to writing. I was a mom with a busy life, so writing was a thing I did on the side to sort of escape into a fantasy world. I wrote on my lunch break most every day. Now, I’m a full-time author.


If you could collaborate with any one author, who would it be and why?

Laini Taylor. She has such an extraordinary imagination.


What are your favorite types of stories? Of characters?

I love fantasy, obviously, with romance. I love stories that force me to figure out a puzzle or make me stare in wonder at the plot shenanigans. I like to be wowed. For characters…I just like for them to jump off the page, for their personalities to feel real and have depth. I also love a tough heroine and a morally gray hero. What can I say?


How much do you plan when you write? What’s your writing process like?

I try to foresee my main plot points, then I just let my mind go and start writing. It wasn’t always this way. I used to plan everything, and the story never worked out that way. Now, I let the story ferment in my head. I often have several random scenes written, totally out of order, before I begin writing linearly.


What do you think characterizes your writing style?

There’s more than meets the eye. I plant clues for many things throughout each chapter of my books. I love that feeling of realizing there were breadcrumbs all along, so I attempt to do that with my writing.


What comes first to you when you’re writing, the world, the characters, or the storyline?

Usually the title, then I hear the characters via dialogue. Everything flows from there.


If you could choose one worldbuilding detail (a place, ability, or creature, for example) from your book to exist in the real world, what would it be and why?

The thermal pool that exists in the rocks near the lighthouse at Starworth Tor. It’s a natural healing hot tub. I’d love to have that in my backyard.


In your opinion, what kind of reader would like this book?

Anyone who enjoys romantic fantasy novels or shows like the Witcher. This book has a heftier dose of spice compared to book one, so it likely won’t be a fit for readers who don’t enjoy steamy bits.


What would you like readers to take away from this book?

Lots of things. I want them to connect the dots between book one and book two, which is something I’ve so enjoyed discussing with my readers. But I also want them to take away thoughts on common themes like: nothing is as it seems and don’t judge a book by its cover. The queer normative nature of the world is also something I hope readers think about.


Do you have a favorite quote from your book that you can share with us? What about this quote in particular makes it your favorite?

There’s a moment toward the end. It’s one word, actually: “Kneel.” That moment for readers is heart wrenching, but it also sets up for the next books in the series.


Is there anything you can tell us about any current projects you’re working on?

I’m currently finishing up book three in the Witch Walker series, The Wolf and the Witch, and simultaneously working on book four, Kingdom of the Forgotten.


Thank you so much for taking the time to answer a few questions for us! Do you have any parting thoughts or comments you’d like to leave for our readers?

Thank you for reading! If The Witch Walker series sounds like your cuppa, I hope you enjoy!!


And finally, where can you be found on the internet if our readers want to hear more from you?

If you’d like to chat with me and keep up with my writing endeavors, you can find me on Instagram. I also have a Rebel Readers Facebook group and Discord, and even a Patreon.

 
Where to buy the book:

Universal Link: https://books2read.com/Walker2UBL

bottom of page